ON/VOLT is an attempt to capture the energy of movement, not only that of the body, but also the light and the sound. All elements are constantly at stake in this performance that literally wraps up volts of power.




“It is rare that one can do as so many dream of: to renew yourself. But it succeeds to a surprising degree for choreographer Tina Tarpgaard.” ♥♥♥♥♥

Monna Dithmer, Politiken

ON/VOLT is the result of a worthwhile cooperation between recoil’s award winning choreographer Tina Tarpgaard, swiss light sculptor Sophie Guyot and composer Mathias Friis-Hansen. Together they have created a dance performance dealing with energy generation and consumption.

In contrast to earlier work by Tina Tarpgaard, ON/VOLT is set in an analogue universe. It is a condensed and intense experience driven by contrasts of light and darkness, pounding bass, and colliding bodies.

The floor is covered by scattered paper that glows in the dark. A massive pendulum–a loudspeaker–drives the motion of the cramped space and the bodies. Out of a glowing landscape of sculptures, the dancers appear, first as soft bodies in motion, then as powerful explosions of energy.

The energy never disappears. It is transfered from body to body – energy in an ever changing form. As a steam train in motion the performance moves forward, forward, forward.

Recoil performance group is highly acclaimed for producing visually saturated dance performances displaying the raw
intensity of the dancers. The group is recognized for establishing collaboration between artists across artistic genres and national

Winner of the Danish Performing Arts Award (Reumert Awards) for Best Dance Performance with LIVING ROOM 2012 and FROST 2010. Nominated for the same prize in 2014 with ON/VOLT

Dancers: Jonas Örknér, Siri Wolthoorn, Robin Rohrmann, Antoinette Helbing, Eva Honings
Choreographer: Tina Tarpgaard
Light sculpture/installation: Sophie Guyot
Sound design: Mathias Friis-Hansen
Costumes: Inbal Lieblich
Dramaturg: Inge AgneteTarpgaard

Duration: 50 min.

ON/VOLT is supported by:
Statens Kunstfonds Scenekunstudvalg, Wilhelm Hansen Fonden, Bikubenfonden, Augustinus Fonden, Knud Højgaards Fond and Danmarks Nationalbanks Jubilæumsfond af 1968